Saturday, November 6, 2010

A Repost From PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal)

FIRST READ ON PEP: Shalani Soledad will be Willie Revillame's co-host in Willing Willie

FIRST READ ON PEP: Shalani Soledad will be Willie Revillame's co-host in Willing Willie
Slideshow: Showbiz Photos

Si Shalani Soledad ang magiging co-host ni Willie Revillame sa Willing Willie simula sa Lunes, November 8.

Ang magandang 30-year-old politician ang tinutukoy sa blind-item report sa PEP Alerts na lumabas ngayong araw, November 6, tungkol sa "isang big-time at kontrobersiyal na female personality na ipapakilala sa Willing Willie sa Lunes, Nov. 8."

Ayon sa impormasyong nakalap ng PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal), kagabi, November 5, nagkasarahan ang negosasyon sa pagpasok ni Shalani sa programa ni Willie. Pero hindi pa malinaw kung nakakontrata na siya o nasa trial period pa lamang.

Isang malaking hakbang para kay Shalani, na naninilbihan bilang konsehal sa Valenzuela City, ang pagiging co-host ng isang malaganap na variety program gaya ng Willing Willie.

Ibig sabihin kasi nito ay tuluyan nang pinalawak ni Shalani ang kanyang mundo. Mula sa pulitika ay tatawirin na rin niya ang mundo ng showbiz, kung saan mas magiging target siya ng intriga at kontrobersiya.

Bago pa man kasi siya nagdesisyon na pasukin ang mundo ng telebisyon ay naging laman na ng balita sa diyaryo, radio, telebisyon, at news websites si Shalani.

Bukod sa isang political figure, naging interesado rin ang media kay Shalani dahil sa pagiging ex-girlfriend niya ni Pangulong Noynoy Aquino.

Bagamat wala pang direktang kumpirmasyon mula kina Shalani at PNoy, malakas ang usap-usapan na break na ang dalawa pagkatapos ng dalawang taon ng pagiging magkasintahan.

Bago maluklok sa puwesto si PNoy bilang Pangulo ng Pilipinas ay mainit na pinag-usapan ang kanilang relasyon. At nang umupo na sa MalacaƱang si PNoy ay marami ang nag-abang kung si Shalani na nga ba ang magiging First Lady ng Pangulo.

Pero tila malabo nang mangyari ito dahil sa balitang break na nga sila. Bukod dito, naiuugnay na rin ang pangalan nina Shalani at PNoy sa iba bagamat wala pa silang inaamin tungkol dito.

Samantala, hindi na maituturing na baguhan sa harap ng telebisyon si Shalani. Bago kasi niya pinasok ang mundo ng pulitika ay naging field reporter siya noon para sa UNTelevision.

Pero tiyak na ang pagpasok ni Shalani sa Willing Willie ay magbibigay lalo ng kulay sa lumalakas na bagong programa ni Willie.

Reposted From PEP (Philippine Entrertainment Portal)

Friday, November 5, 2010

A Repost From AFP

Philippines says no terror threat exists

A father takes a photo of his child on top of a 105 howitzer during 60th anniversary celebration of the Philippine marines in Manila November 4, 2010. Philippine police said Friday they arrested five people and seized materials used for making explosives, following warnings by Western governments of an imminent terrorist attack in the country.
Slideshow: Faces of Asia PH

MANILA (AFP) - – The Philippines said Friday that Western governments were wrong in warning of an imminent terrorist attack in Manila, as it downplayed the arrests of five men and the seizure of explosives.

After France became the sixth country to warn its citizens of the supposed threat, President Benigno Aquino said his government would again convey its belief that there was not sufficient evidence to back up the warnings.

"We will communicate the same with France... in the most diplomatic way possible that there is an urgent request from our country not to be inflicted this harm if the basis isn't that concrete," Aquino told reporters.

The United States, Britain, Australia, Canada and New Zealand issued travel advisories this week warning an attack may occur at any time in the Philippine capital, and that areas frequented by foreigners were potential targets.

Aquino said Thursday that foreign security agencies had informed his government that a group he did not name planned to assassinate two foreign envoys as well as security officials in the Philippines.

Filipino security forces were placed on heightened alert, but Aquino said "there is no adequate basis" for the warnings.

Aquino and Assistant Foreign Secretary Ed Malaya said they regretted the six countries had not relayed the specifics of the supposed threat to Manila before releasing their advisories.

"According to our security agencies (these) are unverified and raw and therefore in fact there was no need perhaps to have issued the travel advisories at all," Malaya said over local television on Friday.

"If they (the foreign governments) are getting intelligence information from their own sources and then they pass that to us, then indeed we would be grateful."

Amid the heightened security alert, police said on Friday they had arrested five people and seized materials used for making explosives, but drew no link to the international warnings.

Four men were arrested for allegedly stealing explosives from a private firm based at the mouth of Manila Bay on Wednesday.

Police said they recovered 12.5 kilos (27.5 pounds) of the explosive compound called Magnapex buried in the yard of one of the suspects' homes.

Eighteen sacks of ammonium nitrate, a fertiliser sometimes used to manufacture improvised explosives, were also seized from the home of one of the other suspects, said a report released by the national police headquarters.

But police and the army said the explosives seized were most likely intended for illegal fishing. Some fishermen illegally toss explosives into the water to stun fish.

One of the detained suspects was facing separate charges of allegedly selling explosives to fishermen, said Senior Superintendent Arnold Gunnacao, the police chief of nearby Bataan province.

Asked if there was any link between the arrests and the alleged terrorist threat, armed forces spokesman Lieutenant-Colonel Arnulfo Burgos referred AFP to the police report.

"We were told they were intended for illegal fishing," Burgos said.

Meanwhile, police in the southern city of Cotabato said they arrested on Thursday a man who was carrying a kilo of ammonium nitrate and three improvised blasting caps containing explosives.

Cotabato police chief Willie Dangane said the case was still being investigated and no other details were immediately available.

Cotabato in the past suffered bombings linked to Islamist militants, including groups waging a decades-long armed insurgency in the southern Philippines.

Reposted From AFP

Thursday, November 4, 2010

A Repost From Abac Cordero of

Team Pacman: We're ready to go

HOLLYWOOD – There’s only one problem in Manny Pacquiao’s camp, and it has nothing to do with speed, stamina and any form of distraction.

“The fight is still one week away. That’s the problem,” Mike Koncz told Manila-based reporters inside the sauna-like dressing room of the Wild Card Gym.

“If the fight is held tomorrow, we’re ready to go. Absolutely,” Pacquiao’s Canadian adviser added Wednesday (Los Angeles time), a very hot and humid day here.

“It’s a good thing you said that. I’m ready. Everything is back to normal,” Pacquiao responded as he sat on a wooden stool and dressed up after an impressive two-hour workout.

Just earlier outside, up in the ring, Pacquiao pounded the mitts with Freddie Roach, and shadow boxed like Antonio Margarito was right in front of him.

As Pacquiao cooled down with the ropes and his abdominal exercises, Roach watched from one corner of the ring. He smiled most of the time, looking satisfied with his boxer’s development the past few days.

“I’m ready. I already tested my stamina when I sparred 12 rounds (last Saturday). Freddie is now very happy with my performance,” said Pacquiao.

The 31-year-old superstar is in his few days of training for the Nov. 13 showdown with Margarito. He will train here in LA until Monday, the day he leaves for Texas.

Pacquiao said he will spar seven or eight rounds Thursday, and the number continues to drop until Saturday.

“It’s more of the strategy now. We have prepared different strategies we can use for the fight. But it’s still the speed that will carry me through here,” he said.

Pacquiao spoke to a gorgeous TV reporter, not from the Philippines, and said while he admits that Margarito has the advantage in size, both in height and reach, he has the speed.

“We can use that so he cannot use his own advantage. If there’s speed, there’s nothing to worry about,” he said.

Again, like in all his previous fights, Pacquiao vowed to put on a show for the crowd that is expected to fill the Cowboys Stadium on fight night, and the millions who will watch through pay-per-view.

“I’m sure it’s going to be a tough fight. I’m sure there will be a lot of action in the ring because of his style. He’s aggressive.

He sounded so confident of a victory that he talked about a concert he’s doing on the 16th, three days after the fight, in Lake Tahoe.

“After winning I will have a concert there. Then I go back to the Philippines, and go back to Congress,” he said.

Notes: Laurence Cole, who called a slip a knockout, and a knockout a slip, when Manny Pacquiao fought Marco Antonio Barrera in San Antonio, Texas, in 2003, will be the third man on the ring when the Filipino slugger faces Antonio Margarito on Nov. 13 at the Cowboys Stadium..... Pacquiao said around 50 of the close to 300 members of the Philippine Congress will fly to Texas to watch him fight. Too bad Rep. Imelda R. Marcos isn’t one of them because it would have made Bob Arum happy. “She’s such a wonderful lady. And I always get a kick out of her,” said the 77-year-old Top Rank president, who first met the former First Lady during the staging of the Thrilla in Manila a long, long time ago.... There’s been a change of plan. Pacquiao will no longer take a 12-seater plane from LA to Texas on Monday. Instead he has decided to rent a jumbo jet to accommodate his entourage, close to 200 of them, the way he did for the Joshua Clottey fight last March.. - By Abac Cordero (Philstar News Service,

Reposted From Abac Cordero of

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

A Repost From PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal)

Korean actress Lee Da Hae apologizes to Filipinos

Korean actress Lee Da Hae apologizes to Filipinos; says she did not even know the show's subtitles carried the word Philippines
Slideshow: Showbiz Photos

Nakarating na sa Korean actress at commercial model na si Lee Da Hae ang pagkadismaya ng ilang Pinoy sa kanyang guest appearance kamakailan sa isang talk show ng Korean Broadcasting System (KBS).

Sa nasabing episode, sinubukan ng dating My Girl actress na ipakita kung paano magsalita ng Ingles ang mga American, British, at Filipino teachers sa pamamagitan ng pagsasabi nito: "Excuse me. I'm a little bit thirsty. Can I have a glass of water please?"

Matapos gayahin ang American at British accent, ginawa diumanong katawa-tawa ni Lee ang pagsasalita ng Ingles habang ginagaya ang mga gurong Pilipino.

Maraming manonood ang umalma sa pang-iinsulto umano ng aktres sa kakayahan ng Pinoy na mag-Ingles.

Ngunit agad itong nilinaw ng 26-year-old Korean actress at sinabing hindi niya nabanggit ang anuman tungkol sa mga Pinoy o sa Filipino accent sa programa.

Wala rin daw siyang alam na iniligay pala ang Pilipinas sa subtitle ng video nang ito'y ineere na.

Si Lee ay parte rin ng Koreanovela na East of Eden, na kasalukuyang ipinalalabas sa GMA-7. Kasama rin siya sa Green Rose na gagawan ng local adaptation ng ABS-CBN. Pagbibidahan ito nina Anne Curtis at Jericho Rosales.

Ito ang kabuuang paliwanag ni Lee Da Hae tungkol sa isyu, na inilathala niya sa kanyang Twitter account kanina, Nobyembre 3:

"First, I'd like to give you my sincere apologies for what seems to be a misunderstanding.

"It has come to my attention that many of you from the Philippines have posted comments protesting that i was being derisive by mimicking Filipinos when they speak English.

"Therefore, in light of this matter I'd like to take this opportunity to clear the air.

"In spite of what many people believe, I myself did NOT mention anything about the Philippines or Filipino accent whilst on the TV show.

"On the other hand, I recall bringing up Southeast Asia and not the Philippines, and the subtitles were inserted when the show was being edited, of which I was not aware of until it was aired.

"The TV show where this footage was taken from was designed to amuse its audience and my sole purpose was to entertain the viewers by coming up with lighthearted stories.

"Since the producer knows that i speak English he asked me if I could share any episodes that touch upon the English language.

"As we all know every country has a typical accent when its people speak English (including myself) so after giving it some thought, I came up with a few lines where I simply tried to compare different English accents: the somewhat rigid British accent and beginners in Southeast Asia whose English tends to be a little hard-edged. No pun or ridicule was intended.

"As an individual who used to take English classes over the phone with a Filipino instructor, I give you my word that even the mere thought of mocking Filipinos would never cross my mind.

"I cannot tell you how much Filipino fans mean to me and as much as I love them, I would in no way hurt or upset them.

"I hope I have clarified any misunderstandings and once again I am truly sorry if I inadvertently hurt anyone's feelings.

"i really love you, my Filipino fans."

Reposted From PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal)

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

A Repost From Thea Alberto Of Yahoo! Southeast Asia

UK, Australia issue travel advisory vs. PH

By Thea Alberto – November 2nd, 2010

By Thea Alberto
Yahoo! Southeast Asia

Australia and the United Kingdom have issued advisories to its citizens discouraging travel to the Philippines, especially in Mindanao, in the wake of reports of likely “imminent attacks” by supposed terrorists.

In its advisory issued in their Foreign Affairs website, Australia warned residents to “exercise a high degree of caution in the Philippines because of the high threat of terrorist attack and the high level of serious crime.”

Australia, quoting “credible reports” said: “Terrorist attacks could occur at any time, anywhere in the Philippines, including in Manila.”

“We continue to receive credible reports indicating terrorists are planning attacks against a range of targets in a variety of locations, including places frequented by foreigners,” it added.

In a separate travel advisory, the United Kingdom- Foreign and Commonwealth Office said there is a “high threat from terrorism throughout the Philippines.”

“Attacks could be indiscriminate, including in places frequented by expatriates and foreign travelers. Such places could include, but are not limited to, airports, shopping malls, places of worship etc,” it noted in its advisory.

Both countries strongly advised its citizens not to travel to Mindanao, some 800 kilometers away south of Manila, the Philippine capital.

The advisories specifically warned against any travel to Zamboanga Peninsula and Sulu Archipelago, where supposed allies of international terror group Al Qaeda are present. Australia noted of armed clashes between the Armed Forces of the Philippines and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF).

Malacanang, however, allayed fears of such attacks, saying there was no specific information on the supposed terror attacks.

“We’re not aware of any specific information on that advisory,” Communications Group Secretary Ricky Carandang told Yahoo! Southeast Asia in a phone interview.

Earlier, President Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III himself said Philippine forces have already heightened its security but there are still no reports of threats from foreign terror groups.

“Walang nirereport sa atin so far na threats from foreign sources at this point,” Aquino said in an ambush interview upon his arrival from Vietnam.

“We [might also] come up with programs to involve the citizenry further in helping us monitor the entire country at all times,” he added.

Reposted From Thea Alberto of Yahoo! Southeast Asia

Monday, November 1, 2010

A Repost From AP

Man pulls shark's tail to save woman in Australia

PERTH, Australia – Officials say a female diving guide was bitten on the thigh and buttocks by a shark but was saved when another swimmer pulled the shark's tail.

Frank Pisani of Fremantle Sea Rescue said Sunday that an unidentified man grabbed the shark by the tail as it bit Elyse Frankcom in waters about 30 miles (50 kilometers) south of Perth.

Pisani said Frankcom started to sink to the bottom but the man grabbed hold of her and brought her to the surface and back on board the boat.

Frankcom had been guiding a group of people on a dive with dolphins on Saturday.

Department of Fisheries spokesman Tony Cappelluti says the 10-foot (three-meter) shark was either a great white or a whaler shark.

Frankcom is in stable condition after surgery Sunday.

Reposted From AP (Associated Press)

Sunday, October 31, 2010

A Repost From PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal)

Angel Locsin laughs off "tomboy" rumors, announces return of Shop and Share fund drive for Red Cross

Angel Locsin laughs off "tomboy" rumors, announces return of Shop and Share fund drive for Red Cross
Slideshow: Showbiz Photos

Rumampa sa catwalk na naka-set up sa SMX Convention Center nung October 29 ang ilang Kapamilya at Kapuso stars.

Para ito sa Folded & Hung Streetcast Fashion Show 2010 na bahagi ng Philippine Fashion Week Spring Summer 2011 na tumakbo mula October 26-31.

Kabilang sa mga celebrities na rumampa suot ang mga damit mula sa collection ng Folded & Hung at ng sister company nito na Jellybean ay sina Princess Snell, Luane Dy, Gretchen Espina, Prince Stefan, Luis Alandy, Ervic Vijandre, Divine Lee, Tim Yap, Isabelle Abreira, Helga Krapf, Kazel Kinouchi, April Sun, Fretzie Bercede, Thara Jordana, Julz Savard, Rachel Bustamante, Lance Christopher, Jose Sarasola, Xian Lim, Enrique Gil, JP and JM Lagumbay.

Pinalakpakan naman nang husto ang paglabas at pagrampa ng premier endorsers ng dalawang clothing brand: Si Maja Salvador para sa Jellybean at sina Anne Curtis at Angel Locsin para sa Folded & Hung.

Wala naman sa fashion show ang isa pang endorser ng F&H na si Sam Milby dahil nung Thursday pa raw ito lumipad patungong Japan para sa Heartthrobs concert tour, kasama sina Piolo Pascual at iba pang Kapamilya stars. Pagkatapos ng Japan ay tutuloy ang Heartthrobs sa Guam at sa Dublin, Ireland.

Nang matapos ang rampahan, nakausap ng PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal) at ng iba pang showbiz press si Angel.

Proud na proud ang dalagang aktres ng Imortal na bahagi pa rin siya ng pamilya ng Folded & Hung.

"Hindi ko masabi kung ano yung formula, kung bakit hanggang ngayon nandun pa rin yung tiwala nila sa akin. Siguro dahil pinaniniwalaan ako ng mga tao, kaya pinaniniwalaan din ako ng company. Yung mga ini-endorse ko pinagkakatiwalaan ko at saka mahal na mahal ko sila talaga. Kaya humahaba [yung samahan]," ang sabi ni Angel sa press.

LINKED TO CHITO. Hindi na nagpatumpik-tumpik ang press sa pagtatanong kay Angel dahil maikling panahon lang ang ibinigay ng handlers niya para sa interview.

Ilan sa mga maiinit na tanong sa aktres ay ang pagiging extra-close nila ng Parokya ni Edgar lead singer Chito Miranda.

"Please tigilan n'yo na po na i-link ako sa kanya, yun lang po ang masasabi ko. Kasi ang tagal na nun, e," natatawang pakiusap ni Angel sa nagtanong na press. Matagal na nga kasing magkakilala sina Angel at Chito bilang magkabarkada.

"Madalas kaming magkasama. Gusto mo, ibigay ko pa yung mga details ng pinupuntahan namin," ani Angel sa PEP nang sabihan na may nakakita raw sa kanilang dalawa na namamasyal sa The Hub sa Commonwealth Avenue, Quezon City.

"Ganun kasi siguro talaga pag magkabarkada. Siguro yung iba, wala pang ganung experience sa kabarkada na, alam mo yun, wala namang malisya."

Since close nga raw sila ni Chito, tinanong na rin kay Angel ang tungkol sa sensitibong tsismis na may anak na diumano si Chito at ang dating girlfriend nitong si Kaye Abad.

"Close kami, pero hindi kami ganun ka-best friend. Pero yung tungkol sa tsismis na yan... Wala, as in hindi ako naniniwala diyan. Respeto na lang kay Kaye, hindi ako naniniwala riyan," sagot niya.

A LESBIAN? Isa pang tsismis na ibinabato kay Angel ay ang pagiging tomboy diumano nito.

"Ay, gusto ko yan. Natatawa ako riyan," reaksyon agad ng aktres.

"Nakakagulat na... ganun na talaga kabilis [ang pagsulpot ng bagong tsismis]. Hindi ko talaga alam kung ano ang masasabi ko diyan, pero..."

Tawa lang nang tawa si Angel at nagbiro pa na subukan nga kaya niyang makipag-kiss sa isang babae. "Subukan lang natin!"

Pero ano nga kaya sa tingin niya ang dahilan kung bakit biglang may lumitaw na tsismis na ganun tungkol sa kanya?

"Well, siguro bukod sa may mga malisyosong tao na gustong gumawa ng issue, siguro may pagka-boyish din ako. Sorry, ganito po talaga ako, pero hindi naman po ako tomboy. Nagkaka-boyfriend po ako," natawa pa uling pagtatapos ni Angel.

Hindi kaya dahil malabo na din silang magkabalikan ng ex-boyfriend niyang si Luis Manzano?

"I think wala namang kinalaman doon," ani Angel. "Ano ba 'yan, hindi ko na yata alam kung ano ang sasabihin ko. Hindi ko na yata alam paano ko ipagtatanggol ang sarili ko sa mga ganyang bagay!"

Pero dahil nga sa walang balikang naganap sa kanila ni Luis, tila pinanindigan na raw yata ni Angel ang sinabi niya noon na wala pa siyang binabalikang ex.

"Ang sinabi ko nun, parang wala pa akong nababalikang ex. Yun ang pagkakasabi ko," paglilinaw niya. "Pero tingnan natin. Mahirap magsalita ng tapos, e."

FAITH IN GOD. Dahil nasa Halloween season, tinanong si Angel kung meron ba siyang supernatural experience na gustong i-share.

"Meron. Mahaba, pero wag na. Huwag na po nating takutin ang mga tao.

"May mga bagay tayong hindi mapapaliwanag sa mundo, may mga 'kasama' tayo. Pero ang mahalaga dun, meron tayong faith in God."

Nabanggit naman ang tagumpay ng Imortal sa timeslot nito at sa pagkakaroon ng mataas na ratings.

"Ay, sobrang lubos na kaligayahan. Nagpapasalamat kami. Kasi una, hindi naman naming alam kung kakagatin.

"Kasi noon may mga bumabatikos na parang Twilight daw. Pero pag pinanood n'yo naman po yung istorya namin, siguro may mga inspiration na kinuha, pero ibang istorya naman 'to dahil continuation ito ng Lobo. E, ang Lobo, nauna naman po kesa sa Twilight," sabi ni Angel.

SHOP AND SHARE RETURNS. Nagbalita na rin si Angel ng mas malaki at mas improved na Shop and Share, ang website na sinimulan nila ng kaibigan niyang si Anne Curtis bilang tulong sa mga nasalanta ng mga bagyong Ondoy at Pepeng.

Sa pamamagitan ng pondong nalikom nila mula sa mga benta ng mga gamit ng mga artista na nag-donate para sa kanilang cause, nakatulong sila sa mga operasyon ng Philippine National Red Cross (PNRC).

"Kami ni Anne, inaayos na namin yung Shop and Share 2. Dahil malapit na ang Christmas season, baka magkaroon kami ng bazaar. Para dun sa mga hindi techie. Pati yung mabibigat na gamit, madala namin at makita n'yo na, in person... ganun.

"Meron din kaming mga ipapakilala na mga bagong applications, para mas madali dun sa mga bumibili," balita pa ni Angel.

At tulad ng dating Shop and Share, buong-buo at 100 percent daw na lahat ng kikitain nito ay mapupunta sa Red Cross.

Reposted From PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal)


How do you want to see your blog reviewed, evaluated and rated as I see it? It's free!!! All that I request from you is a backlink from your blog to my blog by including my blog in your blogroll or enroll my blog in your subscriber or email feed. Aren't you curious how I will rate your blog as I see it?

To All Filipino Bloggers

May I invite you to join Filipinos Unite!!!. You can do so by commenting on my post or sending me an email containing your name, address, name of blog and its url. My email address is Your name, address, name of blog and its url will be included in the official registry of members posted permanently at my blog. Please join and be counted. Thank you so much. Mabuhay and God bless you and your loved ones.