Saturday, October 30, 2010

ARepost From ABS-CBN News

Ogie confirms wedding with Regine on Dec. 22

Ogie confirms wedding with Regine on Dec. 22

MANILA, Philippines - Singer Ogie Alcasid and fiancee Regine Velasquez finally revealed that they will get married on December 22 at Punta Fuego beach resort in Nasugbu, Batangas.

In an interview during the birthday party of talent manager Annabelle Rama on Thursday, Alcasid said they are really thankful to the management of Punta Fuego for their much-awaited private wedding.

"Yes, it's on December 22 at Punta Fuego. It's a very exclusive wedding. It's very hard to get in Punta Fuego but nevertheless I thank them for the help and the security," said Alcasid who was beside Velasquez at the party.

Alcasid said they are still busy doing all the preparations for the wedding.

He said his former wife Michelle van Eimeren, mother of his 2 daughters, will be doing the bouquet and the flowers for the entourage.

"I'm very happy. Saka siya ang may gusto na 'yon ang gawin niya. She wanted to make this special for me kasi sa tingin niya 'yon lang ang pwede niyang magawa for me na sa tingin ko hindi lang 'yon kasi 'yong pagpunta niya dito she will be helping out Ogie also," Velasquez said.

Alcasid said his daughters will be the flower girls at his wedding.

He also bared that he will be going to Australia next week to visit his kids and to plan things about his wedding.

Reposted From ABS-CBN News

Thursday, October 28, 2010

A Repost From Sid Ventura Of Yahoo! Southeast Asia

Should we worry?

By Sid Ventura – October 28th, 2010

By Sid Ventura
For Yahoo! Southeast Asia

Freddie Roach has called their recent training in Baguio “the worst training camp ever.” Bob Arum didn’t hide his displeasure over what he saw during sparring, and said that if the fight were held that day, Manny Pacquiao would surely lose.

Meanwhile, Antonio Margarito is so sure of victory that he’s betting on himself and even wagering his Benz. To top it off, instead of hitting the gym in Los Angeles, Pacquiao motors off to San Diego to coach a basketball game.

Now, people are asking: should we worry about Pacquiao losing to Margarito on November 13?

Shortly after it was first announced that Margarito would be Pacquiao’s next opponent, I wrote about it here in Fit To Post, where I basically said the Mexican-American boxer wouldn’t be an easy opponent, and that Pacquiao’s camp would be foolish to look past him since he posed many unique challenges.

It turns out, those physical challenges aren’t the only ones Pacquiao’s camp has to deal with. The bigger challenge for Manny has been balancing his job as a fighter with his new job as an elected official.

Roach is right: driving down to Manila then driving back up to Baguio every week is too tiring, even for someone as physiologically gifted as Pacquiao. Even if he isn’t the one doing the driving, just sitting in a car for six hours exacts a heavy toll on your body.

Then, of course, there’s basketball.

Roach has repeatedly voiced his opposition to Pacquiao playing the sport while training, and again, he’s right. The risk of spraining an ankle, pulling a muscle, or – horror of horrors – blowing out a knee is just too big to ignore. And now, even when they’re in the United States, the pull of basketball is too great. Fine, he wasn’t playing. But even if he was just coaching, it still meant he wasn’t at the Wild Card Gym.

To counter Margarito’s nearly six-inch height advantage and the expected 10-plus-pound weight advantage he will have on fight night , conditioning coach Alex Ariza initially focused on bulking up Pacquiao. This however, robbed Manny of his greatest asset – his speed. So now they’ve gone back to what worked before, that is, concentrating on his quickness and rapid-fire punching. Forget about bulking him up.

This simply underscores an undeniable fact: Margarito is the biggest opponent Pacquiao has ever faced. While he may not be the most skilled or the hardest hitting (far from it), a boxer’s punching power, even a boxer like Pacquiao, still has its limits. It’s why boxing has weight classes in the first place. Yes, Pacquiao has moved up in weight without too much difficulty and smothered everyone in his way, but it appears he’s pushed the envelope to as far as it can go with this fight. This might be the heaviest he can fight at (a catchweight of 151 lbs) without sacrificing his speed and without diminishing the power of his punches. If Margarito enters the ring at over 160, which is most likely, that’s the heaviest human target Pacquiao’s fists will be hitting. Whether his punches will have the same devastating effect will a big key to this fight.

Even Roach sees it differently now, compared to when they first started training.

Back then, he told me in this interview that he didn’t discount the possibility of Pacquiao eventually fighting at 160 lbs (that’s middleweight). Now, he and Arum are one in saying that all of Manny’s future fights will be at 147, or welterweight. Good move. Chasing titles in as many weight classes as possible really isn’t worth it at this point. Besides, bagging seven is already an incredible accomplishment.

Has Pacquiao bitten off more than he can chew this time around?

If he has, then this would be a good time to do away with all these distractions and buckle down to work. He has to be at his utmost best if he wants to knock Margarito out. Despite everything, Roach is still confident that’s exactly what’s going to happen. And the Vegas oddsmakers apparently don’t think too much of all these negative reports, for Pacquiao is still the heavy betting favorite.

Yup, Pacquiao should still win this one. But that’s assuming he finishes these last two or so weeks of training the way he’s supposed to. That is, with total focus and zero distractions.

Reposted From Sid Ventura of Yahoo! Southeast Asia

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

A Repost From ABS-CBN News

Bar exam blast suspect faces multiple raps

Bar exam blast suspect faces multiple raps

MANILA, Philippines – The main suspect in the Bar exam blast will be charged with multiple frustrated murder and attempted murder on Thursday, National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) spokesman Cecilio Boy Zamora said.

Three witnesses said they saw Anthony Leal Nepomuceno, a 26-year-old call center agent and member of the Alpha Phi Omega (APO) fraternity, without a bandana and sunglasses on after he allegedly threw a grenade at the crowd during the “salubong” for Bar examinees last September 26, NBI National Capital Region Director Constantino Joson said.

He added that the statements of the 3 people who saw Nepomuceno’s face matched the statements of the other witnesses.

He added that 2 other witnesses saw the suspect throw a grenade at the crowd of law students outside the exam venue at the De La Salle University-Taft Avenue campus.

Joseon told Vic De Leon Lima and Karen Davila on radio dzMM’s “Pasada Sais Trenta” that the NBI has a total of 18 witnesses in the case.

“Dalawa iyong nakakita sa kaniya [Nepomuceno]… noong may naghagis. Dalawang babae ito. Nagsisisigaw sila, pumutok nga iyon at tinuturo, ‘Siya iyong nambato, siya iyong nambato noon. Harangin n’yo, harangin n’yo,’” the NBI official said.

"Noong tinuturo po siya immediately after the blast, bumaba sa island iyong thrower,” Joson said. “He walked casually, sigaw ng sigaw na itong babae, napansin noong 3 lalaki doon na... sumisigaw iyong babae, tinuturo iyong nakapanyo.”

"Noong lalapitan nila, tumakbo na... so hinabol nila."

Chase for grenade-thrower

The national council president of another fraternity, Alpha Kappa Rho, reportedly led the chase for the alleged grenade thrower.

The 3 men who chased the suspect managed to wrestle him to the ground, Joson revealed

"In the process, doon natanggal iyong panyo. Nakita na [iyong mukha ng suspect]," he added.

While the suspect was being held down, his 2 accomplices returned to rescue him, the NBI official said.

One of them pulled out a gun and pointed it at those holding down Nepomuceno, he added. “Hindi rin makapalag, binitawan din nila.”

He said a manhunt has been launched to capture the suspect’s 2 accomplices. “Mayroon na rin tayong identity doon sa isa. Iyong nanutok ng baril. Mayroon na rin kaming knowledge [kung nasaan siya].”

Joson said evidence and statements of witnesses point to Nepomuceno as the perpetrator behind the bombing. "Base sa ebidensiyang nakalap namin, tumutugon at tumuturo sa personalidad na ito. Na-identify din ng ating witnesses."

The suspect has not been placed under arrest yet as no warrant has been issued against him.

Joson said that the NBI has requested the Bureau of Immigration to place the suspect on a watchlist to prevent him from leaving the country.

Help from fellow APO members

Nepomuceno, a native of Marinduque and computer science graduate at Manuel L. Quezon University, surrendered Wednesday to Vice-President Jejomar Binay, his fellow fraternity member.

He also reportedly sought help from other prominent APO members such as former Justice Secretary Silvestre Bello III.

Nepomuceno has denied being anywhere near the Bar exam area last September 26. He said he was at home when the blast occurred.

"Our brod is being suspected. After what happened, it is always the tendency to blame our fraternity. No group is holding him. The APO leadership is sad about this incident but I believe he is innocent of the crime," Binay told radio dzMM after bringing the suspect to the NBI.

"There is no warrant for his arrest. He surrendered to me but I believe he is not guilty," Binay said.

He added that said he cooperated in the investigation upon the request of Justice Secretary Leila de Lima. He said de Lima promised that the suspect's rights will be respected during the course of the investigation.

Nepomuceno’s lawyer, Atty. Felix Marinas, warned that they will file a countercharge once a case is filed against his client.

“Kapagka nabigyan kami ng kopya ng kung anumang salaysay, at ito ay naglalaman ng kasinungalingan, karapatan din naman ng aming kapatid na si Anthony na labanan ito,” Marinas said.

APO president Mel Adriano, meanwhile, insisted that Nepomuceno is innocent.

Victim welcomes NBI probe results

A female law student who lost both legs in the Bar exam blast welcomed the results of the NBI investigation.

“I’m thankful ako na na-identify ng mga witnesses iyong suspect," Raissa Laurel said.

"Puwede siyang tumakbo, people can protect him, pero hindi siya puwedeng magtago kay God. We keep on praying na ‘yon nga, justice will prevail at maging fair sa lahat."

She said that she has forgiven those responsible for the bombing but insisted, however, that the perpetrator must be brought to justice. - with reports from Zen Hernandez, Maan Macapagal, and TJ Manotoc, ABS-CBN News; radio dzMM

Reposted From ABS-CBN News

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

A Repost From Glenda Villena of Yahoo! Southeast Asia

Pia on ‘break-up’ with Vic: ‘Sa amin na lang yun’

By Yahoo! Southeast Asia Editors – October 26th, 2010
Vic Sotto and Pia Guanio

By Glenda Villena
For Yahoo! Southeast Asia

Despite a confirmation from her manager that she and boyfriend Vic Sotto have separated, Pia Guanio gave no direct statement on the supposed break-up.

Pia chose to celebrate her birthday last October 24 with the Philippine Animal Welfare Society (PAWS) and without Vic by her side. She donated food and medicine to benefit abused pets under the organization’s care.

“Sa amin na lang yun,” Pia on Monday tells GMA 7’s 24 Oras, the news program wherein she hosts the entertainment news segment “Chika Minute” when asked if she and Vic had broken up. “…like I said you know this is something that I really want to keep between us. I really don’t want to give a status report to the rest of the world every so often and I think yung relationship naming ni Vic has come to a certain maturity na di na kailangan i-label pa.”

“Pareho naman kaming in good terms with each other, and alam naman nya ‘yon na…I’m here for him whenever he needs me and he’s also there naman for me whenever I need advice.”

Pia’s manager June Torrejon confirmed the break-up in news reports last week. She denied rumors that a third party, supposedly Brazilian model-actress Daiana Menezes, caused the break-up. Daiana is Vic’s co-star in TV5’s “Ang Darling Kong Aswang.” June said that both have simply drifted apart and that Guanio was already moving on.

Sotto and Guanio are co-hosts in the noontime show “Eat Bulaga.”

Reposted From Glenda Villena of Yahoo! Southeast Asia

Monday, October 25, 2010

A Repost From PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal)

Charice Pempengco receives multiple standing ovation at the Big dome

Charice Pempengco receives multiple standing ovation at the Big dome
Slideshow: Showbiz Photos

The world is at her feet and Charice Pempengco lives in the hearts of her kababayans.

After Sunshine Corazon's Glee debut that brought her accolades beyond Hollywood, Charice made Filipinos proud once more last Saturday, October 23.

During the concert Hitman, the international singing sensation who calls David Foster her mentor, became the scene stealer at the latter's entourage of big-league performers—American singers Natalie Cole and Peter Cetera, with America Idol Season 2 champion Rubben Studdard and an up-and-coming vocal quartet called Canadian Tenors.

When the lights dimmed 30 minutes past 8:00 p.m., the 10,000-strong crowd that packed the Araneta Coliseum held their breath in anticipation.

David Foster opened the show with "The Love Theme from St. Elmo's Fire (For Just A Moment)" on the grand piano with a five-piece accompaniment.

Throughout the almost three-hour concert, Foster never hid his amazement at Filpino's innate musical talent "I love this country! There's music everywhere you go," he exclaimed before expressing hope to be back next year for a possible Love Month gig.

SING-ALONG GALLERY. Reminiscent of the operatic pop vocal group Il Divo, Canadian Tenors set off a string of well-applauded numbers via their soul-stirring, perfectly-blended cover of the "The Prayer."

Natalie Cole displayed her versatility by rendering ballad pieces in jazz. Cole kicked off with "Fever," then shifted to mellow with her '80's hit "Miss you Like Crazy," then wrapped it up with a duet-thru-video with her equally "Unforgettable" dad Nat King Cole.

It was at this point that Foster got his first taste of the Filipino yen to sing-along. He'd never seen a whole gallery of people singing along with a performer except here in Manila. "It's amazing," said the prolific songwriter responsible for a wide array of hit songs in the last three decades.

Rubben Studdard serenaded the audience with melodious pop rhythms, like "After the Love has Gone" and "I Swear."

Foster prodded Studdard to reveal his unique gift: compose and sing a new song in an instant.

Two volunteers from opposite sides of the VIP section, who both go by the nickname "George" (to Foster's amusement), tested Studdard's songsmith skills. The first Georgina provided "so many years," while her namesake offered "I'll be there for you, forever."

With Foster's piano setting the tone, the AI alumnus bedazzled the audience with fresh tunes carrying those lines, as if he had been singing them long ago.

PINOYS' MUSICALITY. Foster made good his promise to pick potential singers from the crowd who could impress him with a song for 30 seconds.

A lady named Maria and a trio, who rendered Charice's "Pyramid" in Destiny's Child's fashion, gave him a resounding preview of Pinoy musicality.

Foster then ran into Randy Santiago, who claimed he was just on his way to the restroom. With the crowd cheering him on, Randy gave in and sang "Wild Flower," betraying how he adores the music of this "Hitman."

When Foster went down again, people pointed to Pilita Corrales, whose "Dahil Sa Iyo" cover showcased why she became Asia's Queen of Song.

For the last showcase, Foster recognized another Philippine pride, Arnel Pineda, who was enjoying the show from the sidelines in his white T-shirt and jeans get-up until Foster literally dragged him onstage.

Arnel obliged with Chicago's "Hard Habit to Break," to the delight of his Filipino fans. As he prepared to hum the last few notes of the song, no less than Peter Cetera appeared out of nowhere to tease Arnel for stealing some spotlight from him.

Cetera brought the crowd down memory line with his yesteryears' hits, "Hard to Say I'm Sorry," "You're the Inspiration," "Glory of Love," all of which were products of collaboration with Foster.

SAVING THE BEST FOR LAST. All sections, from VIP to the lower and upper boxes, up to the general admissions area, reserved their loudest cheers for the Philippine's "small but terrible" contribution to the world's musical stage.

Donned in shimmering hot pink dress, Oprah's girl rendered her all-time Celine Dion and Whitney Houston favorites with ease and finesse.

Her voice soared to hit jaw-dropping high pitches when needed, then effortlessly turned soft when the tune called for it .

When Charice belted the high notes of "All by Myself," the audience got completely lured into her zone and gave her a standing ovation, a no mean feat especially for the Pinoy audience.

Foster reminded Charice how she could be in the league of Celine Dion, Madonna, Toni Braxton, and the other ladies the award-winning producer worked with.

"Now I want you to remember something, please. You know that I've worked with Celine, Whitney, and Madonna, and Toni Braxton, Barbra Streisand...But you know, this girl, right here...This girl is right there in every one of them," he said.

The night was capped with an encore featuring Michael Jackson's "Earth Song," with the rest of the hitmakers joining Charice and Foster onstage.

David Foster's Hitman will surely go down music history as one of Manila's most memorable concerts in recent years.

Reposted From PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal)

Sunday, October 24, 2010

A Repost From PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal)

Lovi Poe says boyfriend Ronald Singson has not yet proposed to her

Lovi Poe says boyfriend Ronald Singson has not yet proposed to her
Slideshow: Showbiz Photos

Maraming positive feedback ang natanggap ni Lovi Poe dahil sa kanyang pagganap bilang batang Amparo San Miguel (na sa paglaki ay naging si Elizabeth Oropesa) sa primetime series ng GMA-7 na Beauty Queen. Kahit tatlong araw lang siyang lumabas sa naturang teleserye ay markado ang kanyang pagganap.

Ayon kay Lovi, noong una niyang mabasa ang script para sa role niya sa Beauty Queen ay kinabahan niya. Ibang-iba raw kasi ito sa mga nagawa niyang roles sa TV.

Pero nagtiwala naman daw siya sa director nilang si Joel Lamangan kaya ibinuhos na niya ang kanyang mga nalalaman sa pag-arte sa pagkakataong 'yon.

"I feel so happy kasi ang daming positive feedback sa performance ko sa Beauty Queen. I didn't expect na yun ang mga sasabihin nila. Kaya naiyak ako sa tuwa.

"Ako naman, I gave my best kahit alam kong saglit lang ang paglabas ko doon. Direk Joel [Lamangan] really helped me with my character at nagawa ko naman siguro nang tama," sabi ni Lovi sa panayam sa kanya ng PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal).

Inamin ni Lovi na may mga pinanghugutan siya mula sa kanyang personal na experiences kaya buong husay niyang nagampanan ang role ng isang frustrated na beauty queen.

"There are personal things in my life na masakit and doon ako kumuha ng inspiration for my performance. Kumbaga, ang galit ko sa mundo noon ay nagamit ko na and it really worked pala," saad niya.

Pero tumanggi nang sabihin si Lovi kung ano ang mga galit niyang ito.

"Kung ano ang mga personal na galit na 'yon, sa akin na lang kasi it's just for me to know na lang. I'm just glad na I put it to good use sa trabaho ko."

YOUNG CO-STAR. Kuwento pa ni Lovi, bago sila mag-shoot ng gumanap niyang anak sa Beauty Queen na si Margareth Samson (as young Maita San Miguel na sa paglaki ay naging si Iza Calzado), kinakausap muna raw niya ito tungkol sa mangyayaring eksena nila para hindi ito matakot sa kanya.

"Ayoko namang ma-trauma sa akin yung bata kaya I talk to her na acting lang kami. Hindi totoong galit ako sa kanya. Nakakatuwa naman sa bata kasi she's very professional about everything. Magaling siyang umiyak and she really makes me cry sa mga scenes namin.

"After ko naman siyang pagalitan sa scene, niyayakap ko siya kapag nag-cut na si Direk Joel. I congratulate her for a good performance. Malayo ang mararating ng batang 'yon kasi she's very good."

ANOTHER CHALLENGING ROLE. Sa bagong afternoon soap naman na Little Star, na magsisimula na bukas, October 25, challenging na naman ang role niya bilang si Gwyneth, ang babaeng obsessed kay Mark Anthony Fernandez.

"I now enjoy playing crazy roles!" tawa ni Lovi. "Dito sa Little Star, para akong si Glenn Close sa Fatal Attraction. Something like that na baliw na baliw sa pag-ibig.

"Kung nainis sila sa akin sa Beauty Queen, mas maiinis sila sa akin dito sa Little Star because marami akong gagawin that will really make people mad at my character. Pero trabaho lang po.

"Kaya sa mga fans ni Jennylyn (Mercado), huwag po kayong magalit sa akin at trabaho lang po," sabi pa niya.

NOT YET ENGAGED. Pinabulaanan naman ni Lovi ang balitang nag-propose na raw ng kasal sa kanya si Congressman Ronald Singson. Ayon sa report, nag-propose daw si Ronald nang huling bumisita sa kanya si Lovi sa Hong Kong habang naghihintay ng kanyang court date sa drug-related case niya.

Natawa lang si Lovi dahil wala naman daw proposal na naganap. Sana raw ay may suot na siyang engagement ring kung totoo iyon.

"Buti pa sila, alam nila na nag-propose si Ronald sa akin. Bakit hindi ko alam?" tawa niya.

"It's not true at matagal pa siguro 'yan mangyayari. Ronald knows how much I love my career now. Maraming dumarating and I am overwhelmed by it all.

"It will not be the right time to even talk about getting married. Maraming mababago if ever it happens.

"Right now, ayokong may mabago sa career ko ngayon. I've been waiting for these big breaks and I don't want to disappoint the people who placed their trust in me, lalo na ang manager ko na si Tito Leo [Dominguez]. He fought for me for such a long time and I don't want to just ruin that in an instant."

Kung tutuusin ay kayang-kayang buhayin ni Ronald si Lovi kung totoong ngang magpapakasal na sila. Buhay-reyna si Lovi if ever at hindi na niya kailangan pang mag-artista.

Pero anoya, "Napaka-superficial ko naman if I depend my life on one person. Ano pa ang purpose ng pag-work ko if I will only throw it away para lang dumepende sa isang tao?

"I have a goal and that is to make good of my life. I want to be an independent person and not make sandal sa ibang tao. I want my own career and own my life. I was not raise to put my life on-hold. I control my life and kung ano ang gusto kong mangyari, mangyayari."

Reposted From PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal)


How do you want to see your blog reviewed, evaluated and rated as I see it? It's free!!! All that I request from you is a backlink from your blog to my blog by including my blog in your blogroll or enroll my blog in your subscriber or email feed. Aren't you curious how I will rate your blog as I see it?

To All Filipino Bloggers

May I invite you to join Filipinos Unite!!!. You can do so by commenting on my post or sending me an email containing your name, address, name of blog and its url. My email address is Your name, address, name of blog and its url will be included in the official registry of members posted permanently at my blog. Please join and be counted. Thank you so much. Mabuhay and God bless you and your loved ones.